



DENNIS M. CLOUGH, MAYOR

27700 Hilliard Blvd. Westlake, OH 44145

Phone 440.871.3300

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION MINUTES OF AUGUST 11, 2015

The regular meeting of the Westlake Civil Service Commission was called to order by Chairman Warner at 7:30 a.m.

Members Present: Timothy Warner, Marie Marrali, Dennis Kucler

Also Present: Clerk of Commissions Nicolette Sackman, Assistant Law Director Robin

Leasure, Chief Bielozer, Chief Hughes, Fire Lt. Kelly

Approval of Minutes

Mr. Kucler moved, seconded by Ms. Marrali to approve the minutes of July 9, 2015. Roll call: Ayes: Warner, Marrali, Kucler; Nays: None, motion passed

Fire Entry Eligibility List – termination of existing list

Ms. Sackman explained a memo was received from Mayor Clough requesting that a new fire entrance exam be given per Chief Hughes' request. The current list is over one year old and the fire department is finding that the candidates on the list have accepted jobs in other cities. Civil Service *Rule VII Eligibility List, Section 3 Duration of List*, allows for the list to be terminated after one year in the public interest.

Mr. Warner moved, seconded by Ms. Marrali to terminate the existing Fire Entry Eligibility List.

Roll call: Ayes: Warner, Marrali, Kucler; Nays: None, motion passed

Fire Entry Exam – review quotes

Quotes were received from Ramsey and Associates and the Ohio Fire Chief's Association. Based on 100 applicants the quote for Ramsey and Associates is \$1490 and the Ohio Fire Chief's Association is \$2200. Members discussed the quotes and testing companies.

Ms. Marrali moved, seconded by Mr. Kucler to accept the quote from Ramsey and Associates to administer the fire entry exam.

Roll call: Ayes: Warner, Marrali, Kucler; Nays: None, motion passed

Police Entry Eligibility List – removal of names

Waivers were received from several candidates to be removed from the police entrance eligibility list.

Mr. Warner moved, seconded by Mr. Kucler to remove the following names from the police entrance eligibility list per their request: Matthew W. Krell (#3), Michael D. Clouse (#11), Michael R. Hendrickson II (#12), Durrell M. Binford (#13), Spencer J. Krumheuer (#16), Michael A. Nogalo (#18), and Jeffery M. Benedictis (#19).

Roll call: Ayes: Warner, Marrali, Kucler; Nays: None, motion passed

Miscellaneous - None Adjournment Mr. Warner moved, seconded by Ms. Marrali to adjourn the meeting at 7:36 am. Roll call: Ayes: Warner, Marrali, Kucler; Nays: None, motion passed Chairman Tim Warner Nicolette A. Sackman, MMC Clerk of Commissions Approved: _______